Skip to content

FAQ

 

If have any questions that not answered in our frequently asked questions fill out our contact form at or call directly at 1-800-999-4317



  • 1.General
  • I don't live in Tennessee, can I obtain my CDL at TTC?

    As of recently there are now states that that acknowledge the Tennessee Drivers Final Exam. There are many caveats to this rule, so please call us for more information.

  • How long is the CDL training course?

    18.5 days 180 hours. Monday – Friday 6:45 am to 4 pm daily.

  • Does the Transportation Training Centers offer job placement?

    Yes, TTC has job placement available through major Nationwide and local companies. Recruiters will be on sight throughout your training session.

  • Do I have to sign a contract with a specific trucking company?

    No, students can choose to work for any carrier without any obligations.

  • How much is the cost of training?

    $4995.00, most companies offer tuition reimbursement assistance to assist with the cost of school.

  • Does TTC offer part-time classes?

    Yes , part-time and weekend classes are available.

  • Do you offer a refresher course?

    Yes, we offer a 45 hour refresher program for current CDL holders.

  • What is your student/teacher ratio?

    4:1. We believe by working in small groups the student receives more attention. This will help the student learn more efficiently and effectively.

  • Does TTC have on site testing?

    Yes, The skills test will be administered by a state certified tester here on the premises.

  • How much is the average salary of a truck driver?

    First year drivers start out between $42,000.00 up to $57,000 per year depending on the which carrier a person chooses for employment.

  • Is the Transportation Training Centers a Military friendly school?

    Yes, TTC is proud to be VA approved. TTC accepts the Chapter 33 Post 9/11 GI Bill. For Veterans who no longer have benefits ask us how we honor our Military men and woman.

  • Does TTC offer night classes?

    We currently do not offer night classes, but you may interested in our part-time course.

  • What is a Commercial License?

    The Tennessee Department of Safety defines a Commercial License as: "Operators of larger and more complex vehicles will need to apply for a Commercial Driver License (CDL). These licenses include Class A, B, and C depending upon the Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR), Gross Combination Weight Rating (GCWR), and what is being transported. In general, state law defines a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) as any vehicle or combination of vehicles weighing more than 26,000 pounds. If hazardous materials are transported, or if the vehicle is designed to transport more than fifteen (15) passengers including the driver, or if the vehicle is used as a school bus, a CDL would also be required, regardless of the weight of the vehicle. Drivers who need a CDL should obtain the Commercial Driver License Manual which contains detailed information necessary to prepare for the tests. These manuals are available at all driver license stations. The Temporary Driver License is not available to cover any type of commercial motor vehicle. An applicant for a CDL must be able to provide proof of U.S. Citizenship or Lawful Permanent Resident status in order to qualify for issuance of a Tennessee CDL. See the Commercial Motor Vehicles Guide for more information. NOTE: If a person holds a valid commercial driver license (Class A, B, or C license), this license is also valid for operating a Class D vehicle. No separate Class D license is required. - See more at: http://tn.gov/safety/topic/cdlalt#sthash.u9vxfG6l.dpuf "

  • 2.Tuition
  • I don't have all of my tuition money readily available, should I bother?

    Absolutely, we have staff trained work around a tight budget. There are many options including financial aid programs. We will ensure that you've explored all options.

  • What is TTC's Refund Policy

    Students withdrawing * after beginning the program and prior to completing 60% of the scheduled period of enrollment will be refunded based on the tuition and fees assessed the student on a pro-rata basis. The refund will be calculated based on the portion of the period of enrollment for which the student has been charged that remains on the last day of attendance.

     

    This will be determined by dividing the total number of clock hours for the program into the number of clock hours remaining to be completed, as the last recorded day of attendance. Clock hours remaining are determined by subtracting the number of hours the student has attended or been scheduled to attend as of the last recorded date of attendance from the total hours of the program. The refund will be rounded down to the nearest 10 percent for that period less any unpaid charges owed by the student for the period of enrollment for which the student has been charged.

     

    For a student terminating training for any reason after completing more than 60% of the program, the school will retain the entire contract price of the program.